AU MA Social Media

A class blog about social media.

Signing on Signing Off!

Posted by lisaw88 on June 18, 2011

Do you feel pressured into using digital/social media? If you sit back an access everything, with the exception of e-mail, how often do you use it?

After doing a short survey with my friends, I noticed that about 75% of them use digital media throughout their day. Whether they are using a computer or their cell phones to access the sites (Facebook, Twitter, MySpace). However, more of them link to Twitter throughout the day than they do Facebook. The majority response was that Twitter was easier to make a post and read others post but Facebook requires a little more time to read others’ post, comments, and pictures etc.

I don’t feel pressured into using these sites but I feel like it is the norm and when you are on them and look at one person’s page then click on someone else’s page, and so on and before you know it, you have been on there for an hour or more. There are many studies that show how people spend hours on Facebook and Twitter and even MySpace (they even leave it as an open tab on their desktop at work or home throughout the day.)

When riding the metro I see people on their cell phones and if they are not listening to music, they are more than likely surfing the internet or on a social media site. What more can I say, it can be addictive and time-consuming.

Signing off…

2 Responses to “Signing on Signing Off!”

  1. Lisa, thanks for raising the discussion point. I couldn’t agree with you more. The use of social digital medis is “addictive and time-consuming” and (unfortunately) necessary in a world that is increasingly more impacted by immediacy. But I try very hard NOT to make it my norm.

    As you probably know, I have a love-hate relationship with social digital media. I’m probably on the low end of the spectrum in terms of my usage. I dont have tons of gadgets to play with. I dont constantly check Facebook, Twitter etc. Yet, of the gadgets I do have (multiple cell phones for home and work), I find myself constantly checking them or searching for some news factoid because with technoology I can.

    Much like the post I issued earlier about going on a digital diet, I force myself many a day to simply “sign off” and have some quiet time. I’m of the mindset that we, as Americans, are starving for peace and quiet and time to simply think. I often try to find a quiet place each day to meditate in complete and utter silence just to have the opportunity to think.

    Now here’s the funny thing: I bet someone comes up with a new tool through social media that I can use to “meditate” in the future 🙂

    Thanks for the post,

    Tony

  2. chadlymc said

    Guilty as charged Lisa, guilty as charged. Yes, my facebook page is generally an open tab on my Google Chrome each day as I do my homework and attend to other chores. Twitter is generally another tab. Both aps are always logged in and alerting me on my cell phone, and yes, I spend HOURS on the internet each day. It just happens. I login and I see something that someone said or posted and I comment or read more about it or Google it for more information and then I check Twitter to see what people are saying about it and before I know it, it was 8 in the morning when I logged on and I look at my computer clock and it’s now after 11 am. But I swear I was only online for 5 minutes!

    I don’t even know that it’s an addiction. I think it’s more wanting to be sociable and that causes people to constantly be on sites like this so that when they do actually engage in face-to-face or over-the-phone conversation with their friends or family, they are up to speed and able to talk about what happened in the world that day. I mean I have another tab and ap that alerts me when Fox News has an update and the Drudgereport and Good Morning America and Politico and Roll Call and on and on.

    I’ve gotta have this information…..why? Not because I’m addicted to it. I must have it so that I can stay abreast of what’s going on in the world. I’m an intern in the U.S. House of Representatives and the Congressman and his staff rely on people like me to be up to date and knowledgeable about what’s trending, leading the news, water cooler chat, effecting consituents, etc. If I’m not informed about it and another intern is, then guess who gets the bigger better projects?

    This is how the world works.

    Where I need help is finding the balance in life. The balance between being online and engaged in all of this information and actually living life and accomplishing other goals daily. Perhaps that’s the next thing a How to Manage your Time in the Information Age book. Someone else is going to have to write that one cause I’ll admit it, there have been times where I’ve lost a whole day simply because I was logged in and checking things out and suddenly, I look up and it’s dark out and O’Reilly is on, and I realize-holy crap-WHERE DID MY DAY GO?

Leave a Reply

 
