AU MA Social Media

A class blog about social media.

Will Email Become Obsolete as Social Media Continues to Rise?

Posted by dcprmantony12 on June 19, 2011

This Sunday morning, while sipping on my daily cup of hazelnut coffee, I started reading this piece about the “History of Email” on Mashable.com and started to wonder what is the future of email as the immediacy of communications intensifies.

The trend seems to suggest that sooner than later, we will stop needing email because it wont move fast enough.

Remember when we’d wait to receive everything through “snail mail” With the arrival of email more than 40 years ago, regular mail sharply decreased and these days writing a letter to someone and putting a stamp on a letter seems like a novelty.

We all use email at work each day. I must get 50 emails a day at Pepco and I certainly work hard to answer all 50 every day.  Now with Twitter, Facebook, and even Yammer (which was the topic of my Social Media Glossary Platform assignment), the speed at which everyone expects a response seems to be more rapid than an email.

In the time it takes to draft an email, spell check it, etc. you can Tweet a reply and BAM! send it off right away. Of course, you only get 140 characters (which is the equivalent of a headline) but Twitter expert writers know how to convey a message in that 140 characters that doesn’t keep anyone waiting very long.

Anyway, check out the story and below, I have included the email history infographic.  Enjoy it and tell me if you think email will become obsolete or is it destined to hang around for a long time.

Tony

One Response to “Will Email Become Obsolete as Social Media Continues to Rise?”

  1. Doreen Hodge said

    This was a great post Tony!

    I do think that things like instant messaging and social networking sites have kept people from emailing as often but don’t see emails being replaced in the business world. I can’t imagine instant messaging or Tweeting one of my clients to discuss business. Many times an email serves as an electronic filing system and proof of correspondence. It hasn’t been that we wanted to get a faster response because having a conversation over the phone would elicit a faster response. In many cases marking something as unopened and coming back to it later has allowed me a little more time to respond to someone.

    However, when it comes to personal communication I rarely use email anymore. Text and instant messaging on cell phones and Facebook is the way I talk to many of my friends and family members now. I also remember when my in-box was full of forwards. Now I rarely get any. Most people just share things via social media.

    For business related communiciation email will be around for a long time but for personal dialogue email’s days are numbered.

Leave a Reply

 
