AU MA Social Media

A class blog about social media.

Facebook’s “Stranglehold”

Posted by jorogrady on July 18, 2012

An article in yesterday’s Huffington Post discussed customer dissatisfaction with Facebook (due to ads, the new “timeline,” privacy issues, and more.)  As I read the article, which explained Facebook users issues with Facebook, I found myself agreeing with many of the complaints.  However, like many other users, I continue to use Facebook.  As the article stated, “Facebook’s stranglehold on many types of social networking in the U.S. and other countries gives Facebook power to get away with changes that irk users…”  Because Facebook is so prevalent in our society, I would be loathe to give it up for little reasons like Facebook selling my information, making my posts from 2004 easily viewable, or bombarding me with ads chosen for me based on my preferences. 

Interestingly, though, just as I was feeling completely trapped by Facebook’s power over me, the article ended on a thoughtful note.  “Facebook has built a massive network of members that keeps people logging back in. But that doesn’t ensure it will stick around forever. Just ask Myspace.”  MySpace!  Completely forgot about MySpace!  I think MySpace might even still exist, and I completely forgot about it.  So perhaps there is hope, after all.  Between Facebook, Twitter, Linked In, Pinterest, YouTube, and Google+, Google+ ranked the highest in terms of customer satisfaction.  Could Google+ be the new Facebook?

Leave a Reply

 
