AU MA Social Media

A class blog about social media.

How to get More Views on your Facebook Page

Posted by krisforinger on July 24, 2012

Ever since I began working with social media, I have been playing around with what works, what doesn’t and most importantly, how to get more people to view what I am posting. Facebook has been difficult to manage with their constantly changing rules and analytics, and I have recently started testing something new that I thought I would share.

Through Facebook’s “rules”, uploaded photos automatically take a higher president over anything else that is posted. This means that when you post a photo, it is more likely to show up on your followers pages and more likely to stay on their news feed longer.

Here’s what I mean. Take a look at the post below.

This was just a standard post with a link that generated a photo for the link from the website itself. You can see 602 people saw the post and shared it.

Now look at this post.

This post was done the same day, but just with a picture upload and a link attached in the comments section of the photo, rather than just the link itself. 928 likes and 7 shares. I have even seen differences of 500 views vs. over 1,000 views because of a picture post.

According to this recent article from SocialBrite, it has been shown that photo do the best on Facebook, with just links being the least engaging.

3 Responses to “How to get More Views on your Facebook Page”

  1. Alex Jones said

    It shows using images in postings are more appealing than text.

  2. coretium said

    Thanks for sharing, I have notices as well – images ensure higher engagement. So does every multimedia and links 🙂

  3. This can also apply to Twitter. As an audience, I am more likely to read and retweet when I see an actual photo with the tweet. If the tweet only has a link, I will click on it only when I have time or when it is about something that I have strong interest in.

Leave a Reply

 
