AU MA Social Media

A class blog about social media.

The Expressive Type

Posted by lmyette on July 25, 2012

The Tracom Group recently developed a quiz for people to determine what their social style is. I took the quiz and was classified as the “Expressive Type.” According to Tracom, this means that I am “characterized by [my] outgoing behavior, and for being dramtic.” I’d say half of that is true. I can be outgoing at times, but wouldn’t necessarily consider myself dramatic.

Tracom established four social styles: Analytical, Amiable, Driving, and Expressive. Apparently, each of the styles represent 25 percent of the population, so you have a 1 in 4 chance of working with someone who is like yourself. From reading all of the style profiles I can see each of the personalities represented at my internship and am provided a new perspective on the office dynamics.

I think this study is interesting and provides new insight into office interaction, and allows one to understand even more why someone may act a certain way. I’d be interested to see if the people in my office were to take the test if they’d come out in the same category that I think they’d fit into. If I were to be any other style, I think that I’d be Amiable, because I care about the relationships I develop with others.

If you are interested to see what style you are take the quiz here.

 

Leave a Reply

 
