AU MA Social Media

A class blog about social media.

Has #NBCfailed Us?

Posted by AlanaR on August 8, 2012

On July 27th, 2012, the night of the Summer Olympics Opening Ceremonies, I looked up what time the highly anticipated event was going to start. In my brief Iphone search, I read an article that said the Opening Ceremonies started at 9:00PM London time, 4:00PM ET. I was home in my apartment at the time, making a cake for my friend’s birthday, glued to the TV (NBC), anxiously waiting for the event to begin. Four o’clock rolled around, and nothing came on. Then it was four-thirty, four-forty-five, and still no opening ceremonies. Somewhat confused and annoyed, I went back to my i.phone and looked for other articles on the opening ceremonies. Finally, I found one that said the event would be taped and aired at 7:00PM ET. Honestly, I was bummed that I couldn’t watch the opening ceremonies LIVE from London. Instead, I had to wait three hours and watch a taped version. This trend continued throughout the Olympic games. NBC waits until “prime time” to air events rather than bringing the coverage to viewers live. Not only is this annoying, but in an age where everything is posted on the internet, the suspense of the games is often ruined by a Tweet or Facebook post announcing the winners!

Apparently, I’m not the only one who feels this way. In fact, there’s a hashtag on Twitter, #NBCfail, where viewers can vent their furry. One Tweet read, “Ryan Lochte could cure cancer during a race & NBC would air it 6 hours later with the cure portion removed for a Seacrest interview.”  This claim is not as extreme or irrational as one might think. For example, a recent CNN article explained that, “NBC decided to omit an Opening Ceremonies tribute to the 52 victims of a 2005 terrorist bombing in London. NBC instead filled the time with a taped Ryan Seacrest interview of U.S. swimmer Michael Phelps; the network lamely explained, ‘Our program is tailored for the U.S. television audience’.”

Is anyone else shocked or upset by this? Not sure if it’s just me, but I would have rather seen the tribute than another interview with Michael Phelps. Why does NBC (and most other networks) get to dictate what news they think will and will not resonate with the “U.S. television audience?”

Leave a Reply

 
