AU MA Social Media

A class blog about social media.

So Easy, a Baby Can do It

Posted by Lauren F. on June 9, 2013

6C7672717-ku-xlarge.blocks_desktop_medium

Two summers ago, during a skill-building, post-college phase in my life, I enrolled in an HTML/CSS course in order to learn to build websites using code. At the beginning of the course I had visions of myself typing with abandon as I created digital art before my very eyes….ten weeks later and slightly disillusioned, I came to understand that coding is very much like learning a language. It’s hard to do, but the more you practice the better you get. You will not be able to speak fluently after a month. Furthermore, you have to practice frequently, otherwise you’ll lose the skill. And of course, this is what seems to have happened to me…

So, when I read that game developers are starting to create apps to teach html code to children as young as pre-k, I was really intrigued. Turns out, this is the next frontier in children’s e-games. Games like “Daisy the Dinosaur” and “Move the Turtle” are designed to teach basic programming in a way that is both fun and educational to kids. I for one think this is brilliant.

Although it sounds silly, I may even give one of these apps a try myself to refresh some basic knowledge I once had. If you’re interested in doing the same, you can find information about these apps in the article, “How and why to teach your kids to code.”

Best,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

 
