AU MA Social Media

A class blog about social media.

Apartment Hunting with Social Media

Posted by rc9530a on June 14, 2013

I think we don’t really understand just how useful and versatile social media is until we find ourselves in a situation where it really pays off. I’m currently in the process of looking for a new apartment in the city and I have quite a bit of trouble finding something that accommodates all my needs (which really isn’t that much, I’m not high maintenance!).

As most people do, I’ve been checking the housing section of Craigslist ad nausea for roommates and apartments that I’d be compatible with. With the little luck I’ve had so far, I decided to go exploring the internet for more options. As you could imagine, putting any phrase with the word “apartment” in it into a search engine is basically a disaster waiting to happen. Every page is filled with tons of ads and scams and barely anything useful. Coincidentally, I stumbled upon this awesome list of social media websites creating specifically for finding roomies and apartments.

What I really like about these social media sites is their usefulness. Padmapper is a great way to visualize apartment availability in your area, eliminating the back and forth that takes place between the listing and Google maps. Crashpad also looks like a great way to find roommates; it almost looks like a dating service (which is basically what finding a roommate is like). Hopefully the site starts incorporating DC into its listings soon! Check the rest of the sites out here: http://mashable.com/2013/06/12/apartment-search-social-networks/

Leave a Reply

 
